Yet more collage: Obey.

So I’ve had enough of making collages. NATT! These things are so addictive. This one is more in my usual style, like Caro that you’ll see in this site’s header. It’s mixed media, so the face is in ink, and the background is composed of photographs that I took of street art on a recent trip to Melbourne. I noticed a theme around the city of this hard, red, white and black, propaganda-like work, and I really wanted to make a piece that reflected that mood. I was looking to evoke the idea of a dystopian future where the street art becomes an agent for oppression, 1984 styley.
It reminds me of that art you see used in wartime, or by dictatorships. That work is beautiful and alluring, until you remember what it’s used for.
Hope you like the funky paper fun!!

P1100422

Obey.

What Do You Think?

