I’m pretty sure this is a metaphor…

…for the Northern Territory.

A tree and a bin. Alone… together. I posted a photo recently to friends of a sunset over Alice Springs. I compared it to the back of an IKEA car-park, and was quickly scolded by a proud Aussie for trash-talking the much-loved Swedish brand. An insightful Dutch friend noted that it looked rather like a place one might dump a body. Although conversation quickly turned to my ‘wacky jumper’ and new-found outdoorsy appearance, I couldn’t help wondering how one state could lay claim to “A Town Like Alice” and places as moving and sublime as Uluru. Captain Cook and the rest of us have a lot to answer for, ey.

Metaphore for NT

I’m pretty sure this is a metaphor…

What Do You Think?

