Staithes Festival 2014

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, with little things like finishing a degree and having a full time job getting in the way…

But I’m excited to say I’ve just had an AMAZING exhibition at the Staithes Festival for Arts and Heritage. Although my incredibly talented sister, Alice Bader, was unable to attend (she was off snapping pics of Anna Wintour and Alexa Chung at London Fashion Week!) I was joined by my womb-buddy/life long friend India Stephenson in the exhibition space.

Here’s me looking chuffed with the display on the Saturday. (Thanks Dad for the ingenious floating hanging system!)

staithes inks with me 2014

Indy’s an incredible artist and photographer, and as a recent Oxford Biology graduate and general brain-box, she combined her skills to show some breathtaking photographs of dyed fish skeletons taken down a microscope. The result is psychedelic little fish robots, and everyone loved it.

Indy fish photos

Indy officially became a ‘sold artist’ and we both had amazing feedback on our work. Having sold one piece at the wine-fueled preview on the Friday night, I had lots of interest, but a quiet weekend sales-wise. Just when I was saying how it was all good experience ‘regardless of whether you sell or not’, at 4.30pm, an hour before the close of the festival, I had a last minute rush! Three buyers came in within ten minutes of each other and snapped up pieces they’d had their eye on since Friday night.

I must say… as nice as it is to get good feedback… it’s even nicer to have good sales. Here’s to many more!

2 thoughts on “Staithes Festival 2014

  1. Saw your work at Staithes last saturday. I am interested in buying one of the ink drawings. Please contact me and perhaps let me know which of them are still available. Congratulations on your success at the exhibition

    1. Hi there,
      Thanks so much, I’m so glad you enjoyed the festival, and there are still a couple of inks from that show left. Send me an email on ruthisvisual@hotmail.com and I would love to talk about the work and what is available. I can send you images of the pieces, and discuss all the details etc. via email.
      I look forward to hearing from you!
      Ruth

What Do You Think?

